Monthly Archives: August 2014

2014-08-13: IMU Prizes awarded

The five IMU prizes of 2014 have been awarded on August 13, 2014 during the Opening Ceremony of ICM 2014 in Seoul, Republic of Korea by Park Geun-hye, the Honorable President of Korea. Information about the 2014 winners can be found HERE (

2014-08-11: 17th meeting of the IMU General Assembly

The 17th meeting of the General Assembly of the International Mathematical Union has been closed. It took place in Gyeongju, Republic of Korea, on August 10th and 11th. The following major decisions have been made:

The IMU Executive Committee, the Commission for Developing Countries (CDC), and the IMU members of the joint International Commission on the History of Mathematics (ICHM) for 2015-2018 have been elected. Shigefumi Mori will be the next IMU President, Helge Holden the next IMU Secretary. Click here to view the new IMU leadership.

Rio de Janeiro, Brazil, has been chosen as the site of ICM 2018, this congress will take place on August 7-15, 2018. São Paulo will be the location of the 18th meeting of the IMU General Assembly. More information can be found in the ICM 2018 bid book.

Papua New Guinea and Senegal were admitted as new IMU Associate Members.

The General Assembly has endorsed many guidelines, and in particular the document Recommendation on the evaluation of individual researchers in the mathematical sciences written by an ad-hoc committee set up by the IMU EC.

2014-08-09: 85th IMU Executive Committee Meeting (Gyeongju, Korea)

The last meeting of the Executive Committee of the International Mathematical Union during the term 2011-2014 has terminated in Gyeongju, Republic of Korea. The most important issues were the final preparations of the meeting of the IMU General Assembly (August 10-11, 2014, also in Gyeongju), the MENAO Symposium on August 12, and the International Congress of Mathematicians 2014.