2010-08-19: International Congress of Mathematicians 2010

The International Congress of Mathematicians 2010 has been opened by Shrimati Pratibha Patil, the Honourable President of India. Four Fields Medals, the Nevanlinna, Gauss, and Chern Prize have been awarded. Click here for detailed information about the 2010 Prize winners. The slides (PowerPoint & PDF) contain the citations as well as the names of the members of the various Prize Committees. A video of the Opening Ceremony can be found at the ICM 2010 online streaming archive

During the ICM 2010 Opening Ceremony, the International Mathematical Union has inaugurated the server http://www.mathunion.org/ICM which provides access, free of charge, to the articles in all ICM proceedings volumes since the beginning of this series of congresses. IMU is grateful to all publishing houses that have granted the right to digitize these books. IMU particularly appreciates the work of R. Keith Dennis (Cornell University) and Ulf Rehmann (Universit├Ąt Bielefeld) who have volunteered to digitize the articles.